Research

Biotechnology image

 

Biotechnology, Systems & Synthetic Biology

Go to the FACULTY LIST

Biotechnology, Systems and Synthetic Biology prepares students for academic and industrial careers and offers students the opportunity to pursue research in several areas including rehabilitation engineering and movement biomechanics, biomechanics and transport, cardiovascular and vascular engineering, biotechnology, nanotechnology and tissue engineering and biomaterials, imaging and signal analysis, quantitative neuroscience, medical devices and instrumentation, and eye research. Training is highly interdisciplinary and interdepartmental through research, specialized courses in advanced topics, and, in some cases, practical exposure to industrial biotechnology and industrial internships. Research opportunities in this concentration integrate many disciplines and involve collaborative efforts between preceptors from various fields. Outstanding students in this concentration may be nominated for support by the Biotechnology Training Program or the Ryan Nanotechnology Fellowship.

Biotechnology Training Program

Faculty List

Ravi Allada, MD

Ravi Allada, MD
Email: r-allada@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Molecular genetics of circadian rhythms and sleep

Luis Amaral, PhD

Luís Amaral, PhD
Email: amaral@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Integrative approach to modeling cellular signaling pathways

Guillermo Ameer Guillermo Ameer, PhD
Email: g-ameer@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Biomaterials, tissue engineering, and biotechnology

Vadim Backman, PhD Vadim Backman, PhD
Email: v-backman@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Development of novel optical spectral and imaging techniques for non-invasive screening, diagnosis and detection of disease, and characterization of biological and bioengineered tissue

Neda Bagheri, PhD

Neda Bagheri, PhD
Email: n-bagheri@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Computational systems biology and complex regulatory networks, dynamical systems and control theory

Linda J. Broadbelt, PhD Linda Broadbelt, PhD
Email:broadbelt@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Multiscale modeling, complex kinetics modeling, environmental catalysis, novel biochemical pathways, and polymerization and depolymerization kinetics

Richard Carthew, PhD:

Richard Carthew, PhD
Email: r-carthew@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Quantitative and systems biology

Marco Gallio, PhD

Marco Gallio, PhD
Email: marco@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Processing of temperature stimuli in the brain

Erica Hartmann, PhD

Erica Hartmann, PhD
Email: erica.hartmann@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Effect of anthropogenic chemicals on microbes in the environment

Yuan He, PhD

Yuan He, PhD
Email: yuanhe@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Structure and function of macromolecular machines on genes

Curt Horvath, PhD

Curt Horvath, PhD
Email: horvath@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Signal transduction and gene regulation in innate immune responses to cancer and viruses

Michael Jewett, PhD

Michael Jewett, PhD
Email: m-jewett@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Engineering cell-free systems for medicine, biotechnology and synthetic biology

Neha Kamat

Neha Kamat, PhD
Email: nkamat@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Artificial cell/protocell models, membrane biophysics, emergent behaviors from synthetic membranes, membrane stress-sensing

Neil L. Kelleher, PhD

Neil Kelleher, PhD
Email: n-kelleher@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Top-down proteomics, natural products discovery, chromatic oncobiology, and computational proteomics

William L. Klein, PhD

William L. Klein, PhD
Email: wklein@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Molecular basis of Alzheimer's disease

Carole LaBonne, PhD

Carole LaBonne, PhD
Email: clabonne@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Development of the vertebrate neural crest

Robert A. Lamb, PhD

Robert A. Lamb, PhD
Email: ralamb@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Viral glycoproteins, ion channels, and RNA-binding proteins

Joshua Leonard

Joshua Leonard, PhD
Email: j-leonard@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Engineering cellular systems and biomolecules for immunotherapy, synthetic biology, and biotechnology

Robert A. Linsenmeier

Robert A. Linsenmeier, PhD

Email: r-linsenmeier@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Retinal microenvironment

Shu Q. Liu, PhD

Shu Q. Liu, PhD
Email: sliu@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Molecular regenerative engineering for enhancing endothelial cell retention and reducing intimal hyperplasia in arterial substitutes

Julius Lucks

Julius Lucks, PhD
Email: jblucks@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Unraveling the RNA sequence/structure/function code for biology, medicine and biotechnology

John F. Marko, PhD

John F. Marko, PhD
Email: john-marko@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Protein-DNA interactions, chromosome structure and dynamics, single-molecule biophysics

Kelly E. Mayo, PhD

Kelly E. Mayo, PhD
Email: k-mayo@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Gene regulation in the mammalian neuroendocrine system

Thomas J. Meade, PhD

Thomas J. Meade, PhD
Email: tmeade@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Bioinorganic coordination chemistry, biological molecular imaging, transcription factor inhibitors, and electronic biosensors

William M. Miller, PhD

William M. Miller, PhD
Email:
wmmiller@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:

Expansion and controlled differentiation of hematopoietic (blood) stem cells

Chad Mirkin, PhD

Chad Mirkin, PhD
Email:
chadnano@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:

Developing methods for controlling the architecture of molecules and materials on the 1 - 100 nm length scale

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD
Email: r-morimoto@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Regulation and function of molecular chaperones

Teri W. Odom, PhD

Teri W. Odom, PhD
Email: todom@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Controlling the size and shape of noble metals at the nanoscale

Thomas V. O'Halloran, PhD

Thomas V. O'Halloran, PhD
Email: t-ohalloran@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Metalloregulatory proteins

Ishwar Radhakrishnan, PhD

Ishwar Radhakrishnan, PhD
Email: i-radhakrishnan@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Structure, function and dynamics of proteins involved in eukaryotic gene regulation

Amy C. Rosenzweig, PhD Amy Rosenzweig, PhD
Email: amyr@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Structural biology and bioinorganic chemistry, metal uptake, transport and storage, oxygen activation by metalloenzymes, biological methane oxidation, membrane protein crystallography

Evan Scott Evan A. Scott, PhD
Email: evan.scott@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Development of immunoengineering tools that can collectively enhance our understanding of the immunological mechanisms behind vaccination and achieve rationally designed immunomodulation

Richard B. Silverman, PhD

Richard B. Silverman, PhD
Email: agman@chem.northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Medicinal, bioorganic, and enzyme chemistry

Danielle Tullman-Ercek, PhD Danielle Tullman-Ercek, PhD
Email: ercek@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Engineering of membrane proteins and protein membranes

Keith E.J. Tyo, PhD Keith E.J. Tyo, PhD
Email: k-tyo@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Synthetic biology, metabolic engineering, microbial engineering, systems biology, resource-poor healthcare delivery, biofuels

Vinzenz Unger

Vinzenz Unger, PhD

Email: v-unger@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Transport of transition metals; structure and function of membrane associated synaptic scaffolds; methods development for membrane protein crystallization and single particle approaches

Reza Vafabakhsh, PhD

Reza Vafabakhsh, PhD
Email: reza.vafabakhsh@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Development of methods for quantitative hierarchical characterization of synaptic players at different length scales

Yun Wang, PhD

Yun Wang, PhD
Email: yun-wang@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Medical and environmental microbiology, aquatic geochemistry

Eric Weiss, PhD

Eric Weiss, PhD
Email: elweiss@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Spatially and temporally coordinated cell growth and cell division

Teresa Woodruff, PhD

Teresa Woodruff, PhD
Email: tkw@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Regulation of ovarian follicle growth