Cell Biology & Genetics, Cancer Biology

Go to the Faculty List

Cells are the fundamental unit of life. Thus the cellular structure, organization, and function, and cellular communication is at the very heart of all biological processes. Most diseases result from the failure or malfunction of normal cellular processes. Research in this area explores a wide variety of basic aspects of cell function and communication, leading to a better understanding of many diseases. Research interests include cellular neurobiology, cell transport, cell physiology and toxicology, virology, immunology, molecular neurobiology, gene expression and regulation, and cellular signal transduction.

Cellular & Molecular Basis of Disease Training Grant

Oncogenesis & Developmental Biology Training Program

Faculty List

Ravi Allada

Ravi Allada, MD 
Email: r-allada@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Molecular genetics of circadian rhythms and sleep

Erik Anderson headshot

Erik Andersen, PhD
Email: erik.andersen@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Genetics and genomics of quantitative traits

Xiaomin Bao headshot

Xiaomin Bao, PhD
Email: xiaomin.bao@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Epigenomic regulation of stem cell maintenance and differentiation

Joseph Bass headshot

Joseph Bass, PhD
Email: j-bass@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Cell biology of diabetes mellitus

Greg Beitel headshot

Greg Beitel, PhD
Email: beitel@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Molecular genetics of organ morphogenesis

Thomas Bozza

Thomas Bozza, PhD
Email: bozza@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Molecular genetics and physiology of olfaction

Jason Brickner headshot

Jason Brickner, PhD 
Email: j-brickner@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Cell biology of transcription

Richard Carthew headshot

Richard Carthew, PhD
Email: r-carthew@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Quantitative and systems biology

Marc Gallio headshot

Marco Gallio, PhD
Email: marco@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Processing of temperature stimuli in the brain

Yuan He headshot

Yuan He, PhD
Email: yuanhe@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Structure and function of macromolecular machines on genes

Brian Hoffman headshot

Brian M. Hoffman, PhD
Email: bmh@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Long-range interprotein electron transfer

Robert Holmgren headshot

Robert A. Holmgren, PhD
Email: r-holmgren@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Cell-fate specification during development

Curt Horvath headshot

Curt Horvath, PhD
Email: horvath@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Signal transduction and gene regulation in innate immune responses to cancer and viruses

Neil Kelleher headshot

Neil Kelleher, PhD
Email: n-kelleher@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Top-down proteomics, natural products discovery, chromatic oncobiology, and computational proteomics

William Klein headshot

William L. Klein, PhD
Email: wklein@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Molecular basis of Alzheimer's disease

Carole LaBonne headshot

Carole LaBonne, PhD 
Email: clabonne@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Development of the vertebrate neural crest

Laura Lackner headshot

Laura L. Lackner, PhD
Email: laura.lackner@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Spatial organization within cells, using mitochondrial structure and distribution as a model

Robert Lamb

Robert A. Lamb, PhD
Email: ralamb@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Viral glycoproteins, ion channels, and RNA-binding proteins

Joshua Leonard headshot

Joshua Leonard, PhD
Email: j-leonard@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Engineering cellular systems and biomolecules for immunotherapy, synthetic biology, and biotechnology

Madhav Mani headshot

Madhav Mani, PhD 
Email: madhav.mani@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Physical biology of organisms

John Marko headshot

John F. Marko, PhD
Email: john-marko@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Protein-DNA interactions, chromosome structure and dynamics, single-molecule biophysics

Kelly Mayo

Kelly E. Mayo, PhD
Email: k-mayo@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Gene regulation in the mammalian neuroendocrine system

Thomas Meade

Thomas J. Meade, PhD
Email: tmeade@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Bioinorganic coordination chemistry, biological molecular imaging, transcription factor inhibitors, and electronic biosensors

William Miller

William M. Miller, PhD
Email:
 wmmiller@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Expansion and controlled differentiation of hematopoietic (blood) stem cells

Chad Mirkin

Chad Mirkin, PhD
Email:
 chadnano@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Developing methods for controlling the architecture of molecules and materials on the 1 - 100 nm length scale

Alfonso Mondragon headshot

Alfonso Mondragón, PhD
Email: a-mondragon@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: DNA topoisomerases, catalytic RNA molecules, and the molecular basis of spectrin flexibility

Richard Morimoto headshot

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD
Email: r-morimoto@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Regulation and function of molecular chaperones

Thomas Ohalloran headshot

Thomas V. O'Halloran, PhD 
Email: t-ohalloran@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Metalloregulatory proteins

Heather Pinkett headshot

Heather Pinkett, PhD
Email: h-pinkett@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Membrane proteins with emphasis on the structure and function of membrane-embedded transporters and their mechanisms of regulation

Ishwar Radhakrishnan

Ishwar Radhakrishnan, PhD
Email: i-radhakrishnan@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Structure, function and dynamics of proteins involved in eukaryotic gene regulation

Indira Raman headshot

Indira Raman, PhD
Email: i-raman@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Neuronal ion channels and synaptic transmission

Amy Rosenzweig

Amy C. Rosenzweig, PhD
Email: amyr@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Structural biology and bioinorganic chemistry, metal uptake, transport and storage, oxygen activation by metalloenzymes, biological methane oxidation, membrane protein crystallography

Karl Scheidt headshot

Karl A. Scheidt, PhD
Email: scheidt@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Drug discovery, bioorganic chemistry, and small molecule-driven chemical biology

Tiffany Schmidt headshot

Tiffany Schmidt, PhD
Email: tiffany.schmidt@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Understanding visual circuits using electrophysiology, behavior, and anatomy in mouse models

Evan Scott headshot

Evan A. Scott, PhD
Email: evan.scott@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Development of immunoengineering tools that can collectively enhance our understanding of the immunological mechanisms behind vaccination and achieve rationally designed immunomodulation

Richard Silverman headshot

Richard B. Silverman, PhD
Email: r-silverman@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Medicinal, bioorganic, and enzyme chemistry

Fred Turek headshot

Fred W. Turek, PhD
Email: fturek@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Sleep and circadian rhythms, seasonal reproductive cycles

Vinzenz Unger

Vinzenz Unger, PhD
Email: v-unger@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Transport of transition metals; structure and function of membrane-associated synaptic scaffolds; methods development for membrane protein crystallization and single particle approaches

Xiaozhong Wang headshot

Xiaozhong (Alec) Wang, PhD
Email: awang@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Genetic analysis of protocadherin diversity in the central nervous system

Eric Weiss

Eric Weiss, PhD
Email: elweiss@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Spatially and temporally coordinated cell growth and cell division

Sadie Wignall headshot

Sadie M. Wignall, PhD
Email: s-wignall@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Spindle assembly and chromosome segregation during cell division

Teresa Woodruff

Teresa Woodruff, PhD
Email: tkw@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Regulation of ovarian follicle growth

Catherine Wooley headshot

Catherine S. Woolley, PhD
Email: cwoolley@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Neuroendocrinology