Research

Cell Biology & Genetics, Cancer Biology

Go to the FACULTY LIST

Cells are the fundamental unit of life. Thus the cellular structure, organization, and function, and cellular communication is at the very heart of all biological processes. Most diseases result from the failure or malfunction of normal cellular processes. Research in this area explores a wide variety of basic aspects of cell function and communication, leading to a better understanding of many diseases. Research interests include cellular neurobiology, cell transport, cell physiology and toxicology, virology, immunology, molecular neurobiology, gene expression and regulation, and cellular signal transduction.

Cellular & Molecular Basis of Disease Training Grant

Oncogenesis & Developmental Biology Training Program

 

Faculty List

Ravi Allada, PhD

Ravi Allada, PhD
Email: r-allada@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Molecular genetics of circadian rhythms and sleep

Luis Amaral

Luis Nunes Amaral, PhD
Email: amaral@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Systems approach to the characterization and modeling of cellular networks

Erik Andersen, PhD

Erik Andersen, PhD
Email: erik.andersen@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Genetics and genomics of quantitative traits

Joseph Bass

Joseph Bass, PhD
Email: j-bass@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Cell biology of diabetes mellitus

Greg Beitel

Greg Beitel, PhD
Email: beitel@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Molecular genetics of organ morphogenesis

Tom Bozza

Thomas Bozza, PhD
Email: bozza@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Molecular genetics and physiology of olfaction

Jason Brickner, PhD

Jason Brickner, PhD
Email: j-brickner@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Cell biology of transcription

Richard Carthew, PhD:

Richard Carthew, PhD
Email: r-carthew@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Cell differentiation and morphogenesis of Drosophila development

Marco Gallio, PhD

Marco Gallio, PhD
Email: marco@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Processing of temperature stimuli in the brain

Bartosz Grzybowski, PhD

Bartosz A. Grzybowski, PhD
Email: grzybor@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Self-assembly in dynamic and biological systems, interactions between cells/biomolecules and nanostructured materials, cell motility and cytoskeletal dynamics, and biomimetic chemical systems

No Photo Available

Brian M. Hoffman, PhD
Email: bmh@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Long-range interprotein electron transfer

Robert A. Holmgren, PhD

Robert A. Holmgren, PhD
Email: r-holmgren@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Cell-fate specification during development

Curt Horvath, PhD

Curt Horvath, PhD
Email: horvath@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Signal transduction and gene regulation in innate immune responses to cancer and viruses

Neil L. Kelleher, PhD

Neil Kelleher, PhD
Email: n-kelleher@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Top-down proteomics, natural products discovery, chromatic oncobiology, and computational proteomics

William L. Klein, PhD

William L. Klein, PhD
Email: wklein@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Molecular basis of Alzheimer's disease

Carole LaBonne, PhD

Carole LaBonne, PhD
Email: clabonne@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Development of the vertebrate neural crest

Laura L. Lackner, PhD

Laura L. Lackner, PhD
Email: laura.lackner@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Spatial organization within cells, using mitochondrial structure and distribution as a model

Robert A. Lamb, PhD

Robert A. Lamb, PhD
Email: ralamb@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Viral glycoproteins, ion channels, and RNA-binding proteins

No Photo Available

Joshua Leonard, PhD
Email: j-leonard@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Engineering cellular systems and biomolecules for immunotherapy, synthetic biology, and biotechnology

John F. Marko, PhD

John F. Marko, PhD
Email: john-marko@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Protein-DNA interactions, chromosome structure and dynamics, single-molecule biophysics

Kelly E. Mayo, PhD

Kelly E. Mayo, PhD
Email: k-mayo@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Gene regulation in the mammalian neuroendocrine system

Thomas J. Meade, PhD

Thomas J. Meade, PhD
Email: tmeade@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Bioinorganic coordination chemistry, biological molecular imaging, transcription factor inhibitors, and electronic biosensors

William M. Miller, PhD

William M. Miller, PhD
Email:
wmmiller@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:

Expansion and controlled differentiation of hematopoietic (blood) stem cells

Chad Mirkin, PhD

Chad Mirkin, PhD
Email:
chadnano@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:

Developing methods for controlling the architecture of molecules and materials on the 1 - 100 nm length scale

Alfonso Mondragón, PhD

Alfonso Mondragón, PhD
Email: a-
mondragon@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: DNA topoisomerases, catalytic RNA molecules, and the molecular basis of spectrin flexibility

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD
Email: r-morimoto@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Regulation and function of molecular chaperones

Thomas V. O'Halloran, PhD

Thomas V. O'Halloran, PhD
Email: t-ohalloran@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Metalloregulatory proteins

Heather Pinkett, PhD

Heather Pinkett, PhD
Email: h-pinkett@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Membrane proteins with emphasis on the structure and function of membrane-embedded transporters and their mechanisms of regulation

Ishwar Radhakrishnan, PhD

Ishwar Radhakrishnan, PhD
Email: i-radhakrishnan@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Structure, function and dynamics of proteins involved in eukaryotic gene regulation

No Photo Available

Indira Raman, PhD

Email: i-raman@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Neuronal ion channels and synaptic transmission

Amy C. Rosenzweig, PhD Amy C. Rosenzweig, PhD
Email: amyr@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Structural biology and bioinorganic chemistry, metal uptake, transport and storage, oxygen activation by
metalloenzymes, biological methane oxidation, membrane protein crystallography

Karl A. Scheidt Karl A. Scheidt, PhD
Email: scheidt@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Drug discovery, bioorganic chemistry, and small molecule-driven chemical biology

Evan Scott Evan A. Scott, PhD
Email: evan.scott@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Development of immunoengineering tools that can collectively enhance our understanding of the immunological mechanisms behind vaccination and achieve rationally designed immunomodulation

Lonnie Shea, PhD

Lonnie Shea, PhD
Email: l-shea@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Regenerative medicine, gene and drug delivery, biomaterials

Richard B. Silverman, PhD Richard B. Silverman, PhD

Email: agman@chem.northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Medicinal, bioorganic, and enzyme chemistry


Erik J. Sontheimer, PhD

Erik J. Sontheimer, PhD
Email: erik@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Ribonucleoproteins and eukaryotic gene expression

Fred Turek

Fred W. Turek, PhD

Email: fturek@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Sleep and circadian rhythms, seasonal reproductive cycles

Vinzenz Unger

Vinzenz Unger, PhD

Email: v-unger@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Transport of transition metals; structure and function of membrane associated synaptic scaffolds; methods development for membrane protein crystallization and single particle approaches

Xiaozhong (Alec) Wang

Xiaozhong (Alec) Wang, PhD

Email: awang@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Genetic analysis of protocadherin diversity in the central nervous system

Eric Weiss, PhD

Eric Weiss, PhD
Email: elweiss@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Spatially and temporally coordinated cell growth and cell division

Sadie Wignall, PhD

Sadie M. Wignall, PhD
Email: s-wignall@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Spindle assembly and chromosome segregation during cell division

Teresa Woodruff, PhD

Teresa Woodruff, PhD
Email: tkw@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Regulation of ovarian follicle growth

Catherine Woolley

Catherine S. Woolley, PhD

Email: cwoolley@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Neuroendocrinology