Research

Cell Biology Genetics & Immunology

Chemical Biology & Drug Discovery

Go to the FACULTY LIST

Chemical Biology and Drug Discovery unifies the disciplines of chemistry, biology, engineering and computational science. Research in this area focuses on the development of fundamental molecular health sciences required to understand life processes, from the level of the single molecule to the human being. The research and training efforts of faculty in this concentration are coordinated through the CLP Institute. Research opportunities in this concentration integrate many disciplines and involve collaborative efforts between preceptors from various fields.

Chemistry of Life Processes Institute

Faculty List

Vadim Backman, PhD Vadim Backman, PhD
Email: v-backman@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Development of novel optical spectral and imaging techniques for non-invasive screening, diagnosis and detection of disease, and characterization of biological and bioengineered tissue

Linda J. Broadbelt, PhD Linda Broadbelt, PhD
Email: broadbelt@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Multiscale modeling, complex kinetics modeling, environmental catalysis, novel biochemical pathways, and polymerization and depolymerization kinetics

Yuan He, PhD

Yuan He, PhD
Email: yuanhe@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Structure and function of macromolecular machines on genes

Brian Hoffman

Brian Hoffman, PhD
Email: bmh@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Long-range inter-protein electron transfer

Michael Jewett

Michael Jewett, PhD
Email: m-jewett@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Engineering cell-free systems for medicine, biotechnology and synthetic biology

Neil L. Kelleher, PhD

Neil Kelleher, PhD
Email: n-kelleher@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Top-down proteomics, natural products discovery, chromatic oncobiology, and computational proteomics

William L. Klein, PhD

William L. Klein, PhD
Email: wklein@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Molecular basis of Alzheimer's disease

Robert A. Lamb, PhD

Robert A. Lamb, PhD
Email: ralamb@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Viral glycoproteins, ion channels, and RNA-binding proteins

Kelly E. Mayo, PhD

Kelly E. Mayo, PhD
Email: k-mayo@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Gene regulation in the mammalian neuroendocrine system

Thomas J. Meade, PhD

Thomas J. Meade, PhD
Email: tmeade@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Bioinorganic coordination chemistry, biological molecular imaging, transcription factor inhibitors, and electronic biosensors

Chad Mirkin

Chad Mirkin
Email:
chadnano@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:

Developing methods for controlling the architecture of molecules and materials on the 1 - 100 nm length scale

Alfonso Mondragón, PhD

Alfonso Mondragón, PhD
Email: a-
mondragon@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: DNA topoisomerases, catalytic RNA molecules, and the molecular basis of spectrin flexibility

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD
Email: r-morimoto@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Regulation and function of molecular chaperones

Thomas V. O'Halloran, PhD

Thomas V. O'Halloran, PhD
Email: t-ohalloran@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Metalloregulatory proteins

Amy C. Rosenzweig, PhD Amy Rosenzweig, PhD
Email: amyr@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Structural biology and bioinorganic chemistry, metal uptake, transport and storage, oxygen activation by
metalloenzymes, biological methane oxidation, membrane protein crystallography

Karl A. Scheidt Karl A. Scheidt, PhD
Email: scheidt@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Drug discovery, bioorganic chemistry, and small molecule-driven chemical biology

Evan Scott Evan A. Scott, PhD
Email: evan.scott@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Development of immunoengineering tools that can collectively enhance our understanding of the immunological mechanisms behind vaccination and achieve rationally designed immunomodulation

Richard B. Silverman, PhD Richard B. Silverman, PhD

Email: agman@chem.northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Medicinal, bioorganic, and enzyme chemistry

Keith E.J. Tyo, PhD Keith E.J. Tyo, PhD
Email: k-tyo@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Synthetic biology, metabolic engineering, microbial engineering, systems biology, resource-poor healthcare delivery, biofuels

Vinzenz Unger

Vinzenz Unger, PhD

Email: v-unger@northwestern.edu

Research Interests:Transport of transition metals; structure and function of membrane associated synaptic scaffolds; methods development for membrane protein crystallization and single particle approaches

Yun Wang, PhD

Yun Wang, PhD
Email: yun-wang@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Medical and environmental microbiology, aquatic geochemistry

Eric Weiss, PhD

Eric Weiss, PhD
Email: elweiss@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Spatially and temporally coordinated cell growth and cell division

Teresa Woodruff, PhD

Teresa Woodruff, PhD
Email: tkw@northwestern.edu

Research Interests: Regulation of ovarian follicle growth