Chemical Biology & Drug Discovery

Go to the Faculty List

Chemical Biology and Drug Discovery unifies the disciplines of chemistry, biology, engineering and computational science. Research in this area focuses on the development of fundamental molecular health sciences required to understand life processes, from the level of the single molecule to the human being. The research and training efforts of faculty in this concentration are coordinated through the CLP Institute. Research opportunities in this concentration integrate many disciplines and involve collaborative efforts between preceptors from various fields.

Chemistry of Life Processes Institute

Faculty List

Vadim Backman headshot

Vadim Backman, PhD
Email: v-backman@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Development of novel optical spectral and imaging techniques for non-invasive screening, diagnosis and detection of disease, and characterization of biological and bioengineered tissue.

Linda Broadbelt headshot

Linda Broadbelt, PhD
Email: broadbelt@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Multiscale modeling, complex kinetics modeling, environmental catalysis, novel biochemical pathways, and polymerization and depolymerization kinetics.

Yuan He

Yuan He, PhD
Email: yuanhe@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Structure and function of macromolecular machines on genes. 

Brian Hoffman headshot

Brian Hoffman, PhD
Email: bmh@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Long-range inter-protein electron transfer

Michael Jewett headshot

Michael Jewett, PhD
Email: m-jewett@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Engineering cell-free systems for medicine, biotechnology and synthetic biology

Neil Kelleher headshot

Neil Kelleher, PhD
Email: n-kelleher@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Top-down proteomics, natural products discovery, chromatic oncobiology, and computational proteomics.

William Klein headshot

William L. Klein, PhD
Email: wklein@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Molecular basis of Alzheimer's disease

Robert Lamb headshot

Robert A. Lamb, PhD
Email: ralamb@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Viral glycoproteins, ion channels, and RNA-binding proteins

Kelly Mayo headshot

Kelly E. Mayo, PhD
Email: k-mayo@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Gene regulation in the mammalian neuroendocrine system.

Thomas Meade headshot

Thomas J. Meade, PhD
Email: tmeade@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Bioinorganic coordination chemistry, biological molecular imaging, transcription factor inhibitors, and electronic biosensors.

Chad Mirkin headshot

Chad Mirkin, PhD
Email:
chadnano@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Developing methods for controlling the architecture of molecules and materials on the 1 - 100 nm length scale.

Alfonso Mondragon headshot

Alfonso Mondragón, PhD
Email: a-mondragon@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: DNA topoisomerases, catalytic RNA molecules, and the molecular basis of spectrin flexibility

Richard Morimoto

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD
Email: r-morimoto@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Regulation and function of molecular chaperones.

Thomas Ohalloran headshot

Thomas V. O'Halloran, PhD 
Email: t-ohalloran@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Metalloregulatory proteins.

Amy Rosenzweig headshot

Amy Rosenzweig, PhD
Email: amyr@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Structural biology and bioinorganic chemistry, metal uptake, transport and storage, oxygen activation by metalloenzymes, biological methane oxidation, membrane protein crystallography.

Karl Scheidt headshot

Karl A. Scheidt, PhD
Email: scheidt@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Drug discovery, bioorganic chemistry, and small molecule-driven chemical biology

Evan Scott headshot

Evan A. Scott, PhD
Email: evan.scott@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Development of immunoengineering tools that can collectively enhance our understanding of the immunological mechanisms behind vaccination and achieve rationally designed immunomodulation.

Richard Silverman headshot

Richard B. Silverman, PhD
Email: r-silverman@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Medicinal, bioorganic, and enzyme chemistry.

Keith Tyo headshot

Keith E.J. Tyo, PhD
Email: k-tyo@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Synthetic biology, metabolic engineering, microbial engineering, systems biology, resource-poor healthcare delivery, biofuels.

Vizenz Unger headshot

Vinzenz Unger, PhD
Email: v-unger@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Transport of transition metals; structure and function of membrane-associated synaptic scaffolds; methods development for membrane protein crystallization and single particle approaches.

Yun Wang

Yun Wang, PhD
Email: yun-wang@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Medical and environmental microbiology, aquatic geochemistry.

Eric Weiss headshot

Eric Weiss, PhD
Email: elweiss@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Spatially and temporally coordinated cell growth and cell division.

Teresa Woodruff

Teresa Woodruff, PhD
Email: tkw@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Regulation of ovarian follicle growth.