Developmental Systems & Stem Cell Biology

Go to the Faculty List

The research in Developmental Systems and Stem Cell Biology seeks to understand the mechanisms controlling normal growth and development, and elucidate the mechanisms in diseased states. Scientists in these fields use modern and classic techniques developed in the areas of genetics, molecular biology, biochemistry, and cell biology, and ideas derived from the study of gene expression, cell motility, signal transduction and others to study a variety of biological questions.

The model organisms vary from yeast to mouse, but each allows facile manipulation of gene expression and function. While the specific questions are different, there is a common underlying experimental logic that is shared among the groups in this concentration. This allows for a lively exchange of ideas and the rapid transfer of experimental approaches from one group to another.

The training in this concentration is broad and consists of interdisciplinary education through research, specialized courses in advanced topics, and integration of several disciplines, and often involves collaborative efforts between preceptors from various fields. Recommended specialized courses may include animal physiology, vertebrae endocrinology, developmental biology, neuro-endocrinology, and human reproductive ecology.

Some of the research and training efforts of faculty in this concentration are coordinated through the Center for Reproductive Sciences whose dual mission is enhancing research in reproductive biology and its applications to human welfare, and optimizing the training of future research and teaching scientists in the broad area of reproductive biology. Depending on the specific research areas, outstanding students in this concentration may be nominated for support by the Cellular and Molecular Basis of Disease Training Program or the Training Program in Reproductive Biology.

Cellular & Molecular Basis of Disease Training Grant

Oncogenesis & Developmental Biology Training Program

Training Program in Reproductive Biology

Faculty List

Ravi Allada, MD

Ravi Allada, MD 
Email: r-allada@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Molecular genetics of circadian rhythms and sleep

luis amaral

Luís Amaral, PhD 
Email: amaral@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Integrative approach to modeling cellular signaling pathways

erik andersen

Erik Andersen, PhD
Email: erik.andersen@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Genetics and genomics of quantitative traits

xiaomin bao

Xiaomin Bao, PhD
Email: xiaomin.bao@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Epigenomic regulation of stem cell maintenance and differentiation

greg beitel

Greg Beitel, PhD
Email: beitel@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Molecular genetics of organ morphogenesis

thomas bozza

Thomas Bozza, PhD
Email: bozza@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Molecular genetics and physiology of olfaction

jianhua cang

Jianhua Cang, PhD
Email: cang@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Functional development of visual cortex

richard carthew

Richard Carthew, PhD
Email: r-carthew@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Quantitative and systems biology

marco gallio

Marco Gallio, PhD
Email: marco@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Processing of temperature stimuli in the brain

robert holmgren

Robert A. Holmgren, PhD
Email: r-holmgren@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Cell-fate specification during development

Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy

Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy, PhD 
Email: yevgenia.kozorovitskiy@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Synaptic and circuit development in the basal ganglia

carole labonne

Carole LaBonne, PhD 
Email: clabonne@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Development of the vertebrate neural crest

madhav mani

Madhav Mani, PhD 
Email: madhav.mani@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Physical biology of organisms

kelly mayo

Kelly E. Mayo, PhD
Email: k-mayo@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Gene regulation in the mammalian neuroendocrine system

david mclean

David McLean, PhD
Email: david-mclean@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Development and plasticity of motor networks

thomas meade

Thomas J. Meade, PhD
Email: tmeade@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Bioinorganic coordination chemistry, biological molecular imaging, transcription factor inhibitors, and electronic biosensors

william miller

William M. Miller, PhD
Email:
 wmmiller@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Expansion and controlled differentiation of hematopoietic (blood) stem cells

richard morimoto

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD
Email: r-morimoto@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Regulation and function of molecular chaperones

thomas ohalloran

Thomas V. O'Halloran, PhD 
Email: t-ohalloran@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Metalloregulatory proteins

christian petersen

Christian P. Petersen, PhD
Email: christian-p-petersen@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Molecular and cellular basis of regeneration

tiffany schmidt

Tiffany Schmidt, PhD
Email: tiffany.schmidt@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Understanding visual circuits using electrophysiology, behavior, and anatomy in mouse models

xiaozhong alec wang

Xiaozhong (Alec) Wang, PhD
Email: awang@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Genetic analysis of protocadherin diversity in the central nervous system

eric weiss

Eric Weiss, PhD
Email: elweiss@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Spatially and temporally coordinated cell growth and cell division

teresa woodruff

Teresa Woodruff, PhD
Email: tkw@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Regulation of ovarian follicle growth