Developmental & Stem Cell Biology

Go to the Faculty List

The research in Developmental and Stem Cell Biology seeks to understand the mechanisms controlling normal growth and development, and elucidate the mechanisms in diseased states. Scientists in these fields use modern and classic techniques developed in the areas of genetics, molecular biology, biochemistry, and cell biology, and ideas derived from the study of gene expression, cell motility, signal transduction and others to study a variety of biological questions.

The model organisms vary from yeast to mouse, but each allows facile manipulation of gene expression and function. While the specific questions are different, there is a common underlying experimental logic that is shared among the groups in this concentration. This allows for a lively exchange of ideas and the rapid transfer of experimental approaches from one group to another.

The training in this concentration is broad and consists of interdisciplinary education through research, specialized courses in advanced topics, and integration of several disciplines, and often involves collaborative efforts between preceptors from various fields. Recommended specialized courses may include animal physiology, vertebrate endocrinology, developmental biology, neuro-endocrinology, and human reproductive ecology.

Some of the research and training efforts of faculty in this concentration are coordinated through the Center for Reproductive Sciences whose dual mission is enhancing research in reproductive biology and its applications to human welfare, and optimizing the training of future research and teaching scientists in the broad area of reproductive biology. Depending on the specific research areas, outstanding students in this concentration may be nominated for support by the Cellular and Molecular Basis of Disease Training Program or the Training Program in Oncogenesis and Developmental Biology.

Cellular & Molecular Basis of Disease Training Program

Training Program in Oncogenesis & Developmental Biology

Faculty List

Guillermo Ameer

Guillermo Ameer, PhD
Email: g-ameer@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Bioartificial organ systems, cell delivery & transplantation, tissue engineering

xiaomin bao

Xiaomin Bao, PhD
Email: xiaomin.bao@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Epigenomic regulation of stem cell maintenance and differentiation

Joseph Bass

Joseph Bass, PhD
Email: j-bass@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Cell biology of diabetes mellitus

greg beitel

Greg Beitel, PhD
Email: beitel@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Molecular genetics of organ morphogenesis

richard carthew

Richard Carthew, PhD
Email: r-carthew@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Quantitative and systems biology

robert holmgren

Robert A. Holmgren, PhD
Email: r-holmgren@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Cell-fate specification during development

Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy

Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy, PhD 
Email: yevgenia.kozorovitskiy@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Synaptic and circuit development in the basal ganglia

Carole LaBonne

Carole LaBonne, PhD 
Email: clabonne@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Stem cells, gene regulatory networks and the evolution of vertebrates

Kelly Mayo

Kelly E. Mayo, PhD
Email: k-mayo@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Gene regulation in the mammalian neuroendocrine system

david mclean

David McLean, PhD
Email: david-mclean@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Development and plasticity of motor networks

William Miller

William M. Miller, PhD
Email:
 wmmiller@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Human and animal cell culture applications in biotechnology, medicine, and tissue engineering

richard morimoto

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD
Email: r-morimoto@northwestern.edu 
Research Interests: Cell stress responses, molecular chaperones, and protein conformational disease

christian petersen

Christian P. Petersen, PhD
Email: christian-p-petersen@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Molecular and cellular basis of regeneration

xiaozhong alec wang

Xiaozhong (Alec) Wang, PhD
Email: awang@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Genetic analysis of protocadherin diversity in the central nervous system