Neuroscience

Go to the Faculty List

Research in Neuroscience ranges from molecular and developmental to cellular and systems neuroscience. Neuroscience labs use a wide variety of approaches such as genetics, molecular biology, electrophysiology, imaging, and computational and behavioral analyses to answer fundamental questions about how the brain processes information and uses it to guide behavior. Areas of particular research strength include sleep and circadian rhythms, neuroendocrinology, sensory and motor systems, learning and memory, and neurodegenerative disease. The training in this concentration is broad and consists of interdisciplinary education through research, specialized courses in advanced topics, and integration of several disciplines, and often involves collaborative efforts between preceptors from various fields. Depending on the specific research area, outstanding students may be nominated for support by the Training Grant in Sleep Research.

Faculty List

Ravi Allada, MD

Ravi Allada, MD
Email: r-allada@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Molecular genetics of circadian rhythms and sleep

Luis Amaral, PhD

Thomas Bozza, PhD
Email: bozza@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Molecular genetics and physiology of olfacation

Jianhua Cang, PhD

Jianhua Cang, PhD
Email: cang@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Functional development of visual cortex

Richard Carthew, PhD

Richard Carthew, PhD
Email: r-carthew@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Quantitative and systems biology

Daniel Dombeck, PhD

Daniel A. Dombeck, PhD
Email: d-dombeck@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Optical dissection of the neuronal circuits underlying mammalian navigation

Marco Gallio, PhD

Marco Gallio, PhD
Email:marco@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Processing of temperature stimuli in the brain

William Klein, PhD:

William L. Klein, PhD
Email: wklein@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Molecular basis of Alzheimer's disease

Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy, PhD

Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy, PhD
Email: yevgenia.kozorovitskiy@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Synaptic and circuit development in the basal ganglia

Carole LaBonne, PhD

Carole LaBonne, PhD
Email: clabonne@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Development of the vertebrate neural crest

Robert Linsenmeier, PhD

Robert A. Linsenmeier, PhD
Email: r-linsenmeier@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Retinal microenvironment

Madhav Mani, PhD

Madhav Mani, PhD
Email: madhav.mani@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Physical biology of organisms

David McLean, PhD

David McLean, PhD
Email: david-mclean@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Development and plasticity of motor networks

Thomas J. Meade, PhD

Thomas J. Meade, PhD
Email: tmeade@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Bioinorganic coordination chemistry, biological molecular imaging, transcription factor inhibitors, and electronic biosensors

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD
Email: r-morimoto@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Regulation and function of molecular chaperones

Indira Raman, PhD

Indira Raman, PhD
Email: i-raman@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Neuronal ion channels and synaptic transmission

Tiffany Schmidt, PhD

Tiffany Schmidt, PhD
Email: tiffany.schmidt@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Understanding visual circuits using electrophysiology, behavior, and anatomy in mouse models

David Schwab, PhD

David Schwab, PhD
Email: david.schwab@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Theoretical biological physics, collective computation in cell populations and neural networks, modeling of cellular sensory and signaling networks, neural information processing, learning and adaptation

Mark A. Segraves, PhD

Mark A. Segraves, PhD
Email: m-segraves@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Systems and cognitive neuroscience

Richard B. Silverman, PhD

Richard Silverman, PhD
Email: r-silverman@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Medicinal, bioorganic, and enzyme chemistry

Fred W. Turek, PhD

Fred W. Turek, PhD
Email: fturek@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Sleep and circadian rhythms, seasonal reproductive cycles

Vizenz Unger, PhD

Vizenz Unger, PhD
Email: v-unger@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Transport of transition metals; structure and function of membrane associated synaptic scaffolds; methods development for membrane protein crystallization and single particle approaches

Reza Vafabakhsh, PhD

Reza Vafabakhsh, PhD
Email: reza.vafabakhsh@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Development of methods for quantitative hierarchical characterization of synaptic players at different length scales

Xiaozhong Alec Wang, PhD

Xiaozhong (Alec) Wang, PhD
Email:
 awang@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Genetic analysis of protocadherin diversity in the central nervous system

Catherine S. Wooley, PhD

Catherine S. Woolley, PhD
Email:
 cwoolley@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Neuroendocrinology