Neuroscience

Go to the Faculty List

Research in Neuroscience ranges from molecular and developmental to cellular and systems neuroscience. Neuroscience labs use a wide variety of approaches such as genetics, molecular biology, electrophysiology, imaging, and computational and behavioral analyses to answer fundamental questions about how the brain processes information and uses it to guide behavior. Areas of particular research strength include sleep and circadian rhythms, neuroendocrinology, sensory and motor systems, learning and memory, and neurodegenerative disease. The training in this concentration is broad and consists of interdisciplinary education through research, specialized courses in advanced topics, and integration of several disciplines, and often involves collaborative efforts between preceptors from various fields. Depending on the specific research area, outstanding students may be nominated for support by the Training Grant in Sleep Research.

Faculty List

Ravi Allada, MD

Ravi Allada, MD
Email: r-allada@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Molecular genetics of circadian rhythms and sleep

Luis Amaral, PhD

Thomas Bozza, PhD
Email: bozza@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Molecular genetics and physiology of olfaction

Daniel Dombeck, PhD

Daniel A. Dombeck, PhD
Email: d-dombeck@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Optical dissection of the neuronal circuits underlying mammalian navigation

Marco Gallio, PhD

Marco Gallio, PhD
Email:marco@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Processing of temperature stimuli in the brain

William Klein, PhD:

William L. Klein, PhD
Email: wklein@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Molecular basis of Alzheimer's disease

Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy, PhD

Yevgenia Kozorovitskiy, PhD
Email: yevgenia.kozorovitskiy@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Synaptic and circuit development in the basal ganglia

Madhav Mani, PhD

Madhav Mani, PhD
Email: madhav.mani@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Physical biology of organisms

David McLean, PhD

David McLean, PhD
Email: david-mclean@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Development and plasticity of motor networks

Thomas J. Meade, PhD

Thomas J. Meade, PhD
Email: tmeade@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Bioinorganic coordination chemistry, biological molecular imaging, transcription factor inhibitors, and electronic biosensors

Chad Mirkin

Chad A. Mirkin, PhD
Email: chadnano@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Developing methods for controlling the architecture of molecules and materials on the 1 - 100 nm length scale

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD

Richard I. Morimoto, PhD
Email: r-morimoto@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Cell stress responses, molecular chaperones, and protein conformational disease

Chris Petersen

Christian P. Petersen, PhD
Email: christian-p-petersen@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Molecular and cellular basis of regeneration

Indira Raman, PhD

Indira Raman, PhD
Email: i-raman@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Ionic mechanisms of neuronal excitability

Tiffany Schmidt, PhD

Tiffany Schmidt, PhD
Email: tiffany.schmidt@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Understanding visual circuits using electrophysiology, behavior, and anatomy in mouse models

Richard B. Silverman, PhD

Richard Silverman, PhD
Email: r-silverman@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Medicinal, bioorganic, and enzyme chemistry

Fred W. Turek, PhD

Fred W. Turek, PhD
Email: fturek@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Sleep and circadian rhythms

Reza Vafabakhsh, PhD

Reza Vafabakhsh, PhD
Email: reza.vafabakhsh@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Development of methods for quantitative hierarchical characterization of synaptic players at different length scales

Catherine S. Woolley, PhD

Catherine S. Woolley, PhD
Email:
 cwoolley@northwestern.edu
Research Interests: Neuroendocrinology; hormonal effects on hippocampal synaptic structure & function